InOrbit allows individual robots to be locked while someone is sending specific actions to it to prevent multiple people from executing potentially conflicting actions.
This feature is only available for Enterprise accounts
Locks can be configured under Settings > Insights > Actions to be:
Any action can be configured to require a lock on the robot.
Requires Lock box to specify which actions will implicitly create a lock when used (Automatic mode) or require the robot to be locked before running (Selectable mode).
InOrbit currently supports the following capabilities around robot locks:
Any robot can be locked by clicking on the
LOCK button, which toggles to
UNLOCK to easily remove the lock.
Other people can hover over the
UNLOCK button to see who currently has the lock on a robot and how long it has been in effect.
The person who locked the robot can unlock it by pressing the
UNLOCK button. This allows other people to claim the lock on the robot.
If the robot is locked, an authorized person other than the person who locked the robot can force the robot to be unlocked by pressing the
In this case, there is a confirmation on unlocking a robot to ensure that this is a deliberate action.
To prevent situations where a person who locked a robot forgets to unlock it, locks are automatically released after a period of time has passed since the last action on the robot.
There is a Locked Robots collection that provides visibility into any robots that are currently locked.